Me as a student

Describe your prior experiences as a learner in this program. What did you like? What didn’t work? What haven’t you seen that you would like? I love learning and gaining new knowledge. I work hard to understand new concepts and theories. My prior experience of a learner in this program consisted of reading, mind mapping, kinaesthetic learning note taking, highlighting and rope learning. I like mind mapping – it helps me to connect my thoughts and link one concept/theory to another. It helps me understand things. Rope learning did not work because did not help me understands concepts/theories. During this program I have not see solid communication and discussion of ideas that work in practice.

What is NGL? What do you currently know about it? NGL is people with the same mind set being drawn into a discussion about a certain topic. People communicating and learning from others experiences and insights. There is a lot of technology involved but ideas flow easily.

What have you previously learned that is related to NGL? Lots of things. I regularly use yahoo answers to discuss problems but the most thing that I have probably learned is how to write and reference academic papers.

How have you previously performed your student role? What practices and tools do you use? How do these fit with the idea of NGL and what you know so far of this course? I usually read module guidance set out by lectures, link these guidelines to the academic papers recommended. Print reams and reams of papers and journals, highlighted important points and then linked them into assignment work.

What do you want out of this course? What aren’t you seeing from the course that you’d like to see? I want to become a better listener and academic writer. I want my confidence to be increased when discussing academic matters and finally I want to discover new resources that will help me and others understand things that we may come across in the future.

Leave a comment